Our Clients

Click to read more about our clients

Our publications

Click to read more about our publications

Our papers

Click to read more about our papers

NEC approves inauguration of 18 committees for NBA, ratifies previous ones


Source: http://thenationonlineng.net/nec-approves-inauguration-of-18-committees-for-nba-ratifies-previous-ones/

The National Executive Committee(NEC) of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), last week in Asaba, Delta State, gave nod to the President of the NBA, Okey Wali (SAN) to set up 18 committees to drive its administration and deliver the 10 point agenda of the Okey Wali administration.

The NEC also ratified the five committees which were previously inaugurated by the NBA President because of their strategic functions and they could not wait for the approval of NEC. The previously inaugurated committees are the Lawyers Welfare Trust Fund, the Data Base Committee, the Legislative Advocacy Working Group, the Rule of Law Action Group and committee on Constitution Review and Law Reform.

Inaugurating the committees, Wali (SAN) said: “The establishment of committees is fundamental to ensuring a more active Bar, as it is not possible for the national officers or the secretariat to deal with all activities and functions of a Bar. In addition, the use of committees allows lawyers who have interest and expertise in a particular area to focus on specific issues.”

He called on all the chairmen and members of the newly inaugurated committees to view the assignment as their contribution to the legal profession in addition to their past efforts and if they are new comers to the process, they are opening chapter of a long and rewarding service to our noble association.

The new committees are : Technical Committee on Conference Planning with Chief Joe Agi (SAN) as chairman, Olumuyiwa Akinboro as Alternate chairman and Oluseun Abimbola as Secretary. NBA Local Government System Reform and Community Access to Justice Committee with Chief Niyi Akintola (SAN) as Chairman,Faye Dikio (SAN) Alternate Chairman and Niyi Osunubi as Secretary. The NBA Welfare Committee has Mr Steve Abba as Chairman and Chinelo Iriele as Secretary. The Human Rights Institute Governing Council has Justice Amina Augie (JCA) as Chairman, Mr Festus Okoye as Vice Chairman and Mrs. Hauwa Shekarau as Secretary.

The NBA Anti-Corruption Commission has Yusuf Olaolu (SAN) as Chairman, Mr Ledum Mittee Alternate Chairman, Hajiya Fatima Kwaku as Vice Chairman and Charles U. Eduzor as Secretary. The NBA Election Working Group has Dafe Akpedeye (SAN) as Chairman, Mr Reuben James as Alternate Chairman and Folake Abiodun Emmanuel as Secretary. NBA Judiciary Committee has Kabiru Taminu Turaki (SAN) as Chairman, Mr Femi Falana (SAN) as AAlfernate chairman and Dr. Violet Aigbkhaerbo as Secretary. NBA Legal Education Committee has Prof. Alwalu Yadudu as Chairman, Mr Lateef Fagbemi , Alternate Chairman and Dr. Ogugua Ikpeze as Secretary. NBA Property Development Committee has Dr. T.C Osanakpo (SAN) as Chairman, Obi Okwusogu (SAN), Alternate Chairman and Mrs. Kemi Osisanya as Secretary.

The committee on branch capacity building has Funke Adekoya (SAN) as Chairman, D. C. Denwigwe Alternate Chairman and Mr Ibrahim Eddy Mark as Secretary. Criminal justice Reform Committee has Dr. Garba Tetengi (SAN) as chairman, Hon. Nimi Walson Jack Alternate Chairman and Nnenna Uko as Secretary. NBA Human Rights Committee has Mr Osa Erhabor as Chairman. The Institute of Continuing Legal Education Governing Board has Pro. M. I. Jegede (SAN) as Chairman, Chief John Ochoga and Prof. Ernest Ojukwu as Project Director, NBA Editorial Board has Prof. Epiphany Azinge (SAN) as Chairman, S. T. Hon Alternate Chairman as Alternate Chairman.

The Committee on the Liberalisation of Legal services has Yemi-Candid Johnson (SAN) as Chairman, Mrs. Mfon Usoro Alternate Chairman and Mrs. Olufunmi Oluyede as Secretary. NBA Academic Forum has Prof. Ernest Ojukwu as Chairman and Mr Omale Ogar Omale as Secretary. The Finance Committee has Prince Adetokunbo Kayode (SAN) as Chairman, Mr John Olatunde Ayeni , Alternate Chairman and Mazi Okechukwu C. K. Unegbu as Secretary. The Peace and Secrurity Committee has Okey Amechi (SAN) as Chairman, J. S. Okutepa as Alternate Chairman and Miss Fatima Hassan as Secretary.

The committees were given their terms of reference and charged to hit the ground running.

Share on Facebook | Back to Archives